*fizz/pop*

I was having a conversation with Clay the other day about how, as a kid, I used to think that becoming a missionary would awful. I’m a homebody, I like to be in a familiar area. I like to feel completely comfortable in my surroundings. So for a 12-year-old me, being a missionary was a terrifying idea. Traveling to a foreign country, surrounded by people speaking a different language, adjusting to cultures and norms vastly different from my own… It was really, really scary.

I believe that a huge piece of Faith is choosing to be ok getting outside of your comfort zone. I believed this even as a kid. So as a 12 year old, I was completely, absolutely, positively sure that God was going to call me to be a missionary, solely because it was the last thing on earth I wanted to do. Now, at 20, I’ve been involved with ministries, become the Women’s Outreach leader in a local college bible study, and been halfway across the world and back administering health care to the men, women, and children of Zambia. Is this considered missionary work?

mis-sion-ar-y

1. a person sent by a church into an area to carry on evangelism or other activities, as educational or hospital work.

So to answer my previous question, yes, it is missionary work. I am a missionary.

“The second you walk out the doors of this church, you become a missionary to the world. Your calling as a Christian is to administer the love of your Lord and proclaim his word to everyone.” -Tony VanDerWilt

I look back at my childish fears and laugh to myself. Cause isn’t it funny that something I so greatly feared has become the position I now jump at the chance to fill? He not only shows us how to conquer our fears, He uses them! Our God is greater.

“When everything gets so complicated

Who do I choose to believe?

Religion can be so overrated

But all I know is now I am free

I was lost in a place no one wants to be

Trying hard to convince myself to believe

You were there all along, I just couldn’t see…” -EleventySeven “Love in Your Arms”

The lightbulb in my Scentsy went out… And for some reason I don’t fully understand, this has drained nearly every ounce of creativity from me. Interesting… I’ll ponder more on this later…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment