in which… my Dad is amazing

I made coffee in my french press… And drank all of it… Hence the 1 AM blog…

So technically, it’s not Father’s day anymore… But it’s still Sunday in my mind, as I haven’t slept yet…

I was going to write a Father’s day post earlier but got caught up in homework and then decided to crash with my family afterwards. Because even better than writing about Father’s day, is spending time with said Father.

In honor of the day, I combed through some old family pics.

Not sure how old I was in this picture… I’m going to take a guesstimate at 6ish… Maybe 7.

Cheesing it up. And there’s a helpful date-stamp on this one. I was 13 in this picture. Craaaazy.

I love that guy. I’m one of those kids that irritates people cause I always talk about how great my parents are.

But seriously, they ‘re amazing. You have no idea.

One of the most precious memories I’ve got of my Dad, and one I’ll probably always have stored in the ‘favorites’ jar, is a recent acquirement. It was during one of those parent-child talks (pretty sure I initiated it though…) and those are always great talks in our house. It’s an amazing memory, where I actually watched my Dad slowly come to the realization that I was moving down a path he didn’t truly enjoy… Yet he respected me enough to let me grow. And I’m not sure if I’ve ever felt more loved than when I watched him sit back and smile at me, with tears in his eyes, and show me with his emotion how much he respected me, in allowing changes he didn’t want to accept, but knew I was ready for. That is a crazy, crazy love.

 “It’s okay. Seasons are changing and waves are crashing and stars are falling all for us… It’s okay…” -Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

Love ya, Dad

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

